Elections 2021

Your vote, your Lancashire

On Thursday 6 May 2021, Lancashire's voters will go to the polls to elect their representatives to shape and decide on council services.

County councillors are elected by the people and make important decisions affecting the lives of everyone in Lancashire. The county council provides around 85% of all local government services in Lancashire. Services include education, fostering and adoption, health and social care, cultural services, libraries and archives, registering births, deaths and marriages, recycling and highways and transportation.

There are 84 county councillors elected to cover all the electoral divisions in the 12 Lancashire district areas. In Lancashire there are two unitary authorities (Blackburn with Darwen, and Blackpool). Lancashire county councillors do not represent these areas.

Elections 2020 Postponement – Coronavirus

District Local Elections and the election for the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Lancashire which were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic, will now also take place on Thursday 6 May 2021. District local elections are due to take place in Burnley, Chorley, Hyndburn, Pendle, Preston, Rossendale and West Lancs.

The elections will take place at a time when Covid-19 continues to present risks to public health. Depending on the infection rate, measures taken to control the spread of the virus may change as we approach May. This means we cannot currently answer all the questions you may have about how the election will be run. However, we are working hard with the Electoral Commission, the wider electoral community and public health authorities to help ensure you can stay safe when casting your vote next May.

We will update Latest News with further information as it becomes available. Further information can also be found on the website of the Electoral Commission at: www.electoralcommission.org.uk/i-am-a/voter

Previous election results

Election results from previous county council elections.

By elections

Results from by elections.

Key contacts

Contact details of key election officers and teams.

Latest news

Keep up to date.