Elections are normally held on the first Thursday in May every four years. If a vacancy occurs between elections a by-election takes place to fill that vacancy.

There are 84 county councillors elected to cover all the electoral divisions in the 12 Lancashire district areas. In Lancashire there are two unitary authorities (Blackburn with Darwen, and Blackpool). Lancashire county councillors do not represent these areas.

You need to be on the electoral register to vote in UK elections.

Election results

County council election results from 2017 and from previous elections since 2001.