New Lancashire Book of the Year shortlist revealed

Monday, May 24, 2021

The shortlisted titles for the Lancashire Book of the Year 2021 Award have been announced today.

Lancashire Book of the Year remains one of the few book awards where young people themselves are totally responsible for drawing up the shortlist and choosing the overall winner.

Students from 21 high schools across the county have voted for their favourite books from the longlist, and have selected an exciting shortlist which represents the best of Young Adult fiction.

The shortlisted authors and books are:

Rob Harrell, Wink
Ben Oliver, The Loop
Jenny Oliver, Chelsea High
Amanda K Morgan, Five Little Liars
Kesia Lupo, We Are Bound By Stars
SA Domingo, Love on the Main Stage
Kerry Drewery, The Last Paper Crane
Nathan Parker, The Rise of the Chemist
Christina Hammonds Reed, The Black Kids
Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick, On Midnight Beach
Danielle Jawando, And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

The winning author of the Lancashire Book of the Year 2021 Award will be decided by pupils from schools across the county and announced at a virtual event in late September.

Julie Bell, Lancashire County Council's head of service for libraries, museums, culture and archives, said: "Being introduced to books at any age is vital for instilling a love of reading that can stay with you for the rest of your life.

"Lancashire Book of the Year is widely recognised as an important and prestigious award for brilliant Young Adult Fiction. It's great to see young people actively selecting the shortlist themselves, and developing crucial critical thinking skills.

"We are so pleased that the teenage readers have continued reading throughout what has been an incredibly challenging year. I really hope that they continue to develop their love of reading and that they enjoy reading these shortlisted books to decide on their overall winner."

There were 68 books nominated this year. The young judges have been reading them since October 2020 to decide which books to shortlist.

The schools that have taken part this year are:

Shuttleworth College, Burnley
Sir John Thursby Community College, Burnley
Albany Academy, Chorley
Parklands Academy, Chorley
Shaftesbury High School, Chorley
Kirkham Grammar School, Fylde
Lytham St Annes High School, Fylde
Accrington Academy, Hyndburn
Mount Carmel Roman Catholic High School, Hyndburn
Our Lady's Catholic College, Lancaster
Colne Primet Academy, Pendle
Marsden Heights Community College, Pendle
Archbishop Temple School, Preston
Our Lady's Catholic High School, Preston
Leyland St Mary's Catholic High School, South Ribble
Penwortham Girls High School, South Ribble
Lathom High School, West Lancashire
Upholland School, West Lancashire
Fleetwood High School, Wyre
Millfield Science and Performing Arts College, Wyre
Stonyhurst College, Ribble Valley

The Lancashire Book of the Year was the first regional book award for Young Adults when it began in 1987. It was won that year by Philip Pullman, who went on to great success with the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The pupils taking part are from school Year 9 (aged 13 and 14). 21 high schools from across the county have taken part, with each Lancashire district being represented.

The Lancashire Book of the Year Award is run by Lancashire Libraries and sponsored by UCLan for the 19th year.

Find out more about this year's shortlist.

Tagged as: Leisure and Culture

Share this: