Lancashire Book of the Year shortlist

Thursday, March 01, 2018

The shortlisted titles for the Lancashire Book of the Year awards are being announced at a special event in Preston today (Thursday 1 March).

Lancashire Book of the Year remains one of the few book awards where young people themselves are totally responsible for drawing up the shortlist and choosing the overall winner.

This special occasion was attended by representatives from 24 high schools from across the county.

The shortlisted authors and books are:

Kerry Drewery – Cell 7
Lisa Williamson – All About Mia
Laura Eve – The Graces
Emily Barr – The One Memory of Flora Banks
Juno Dawson – Margot and Me
Sharon Gosling – Fir
Jeremy De Quidt – The Wrong Train
Tamsyn Murray – Instructions For A Second Hand Heart
Penny Joelson – I Have No Secrets
Sue Wallman – See How They Lie
Hayley Barker – Show Stopper

The winning author of the Lancashire Book of the Year award will be decided on Tuesday 26 June and announced at a special celebration event, with sponsors UCLan, on Friday 6th July.

County Councillor Peter Buckley, Lancashire County Council's cabinet member for community and cultural services, said: "Being introduced to books at a young age is important, as it can build up a love of reading that can stay with you for the rest of your life.

"It's fantastic to see so many young people so actively involved in choosing the books to go forward, and clearly getting so much pleasure from books.

"I know that what makes this award extra special for the shortlisted authors is that it is the young readers themselves who choose the winner, the young people they are actually writing for, and this means so much to them.

"I really hope that they enjoy reading these shortlisted books to decide on their overall winner, and that their love of reading continues."

There were 63 books nominated this year. The young judges have been reading them since September to decide which books to shortlist. The 24-pupil judging panel was assisted by last year's winning author, Natalie Flynn.

The schools that have taken part this year are:

Unity College, Burnley
Colne Primet Academy, Colne, Pendle
Pendle Vale College, Nelson, Pendle
SS John Fisher and Thomas More Roman Catholic High School, Colne, Pendle
Lancaster Girls' Grammar School, Lancaster
Ripley St. Thomas Church of England Academy, Lancaster
St Bede's Catholic High School, Lytham St Annes, Fylde
Garstang Community Academy, Garstang, Wyre
Fleetwood High School, Fleetwood, Wyre
LSA Technology and Performing Arts College, Lytham St. Annes, Fylde
St Michael's Church of England High School, Chorley
Parklands High School, Chorley
Preston Muslim Girls High School, Preston
Lathom High School, Skelmersdale, West Lancashire
Alder Grange School, Rawtenstall, Rossendale
Haslingden High School, Haslingden, Rossendale
Whitworth Community High School, Whitworth, Rossendale
Accrington Academy, Accrington, Hyndburn
Ribblesdale High School, Clitheroe, Ribble Valley
Penwortham Girls' High School, Penwortham, South Ribble
Penwortham Priory Academy, Penwortham, South Ribble
Brownedge St. Mary's Catholic High School, Bamber Bridge, South Ribble
Carr Hill High School, Kirkham, Preston
Corpus Christi Catholic High School, Fulwood, Preston

The Lancashire Book of the Year was the first regional book award for children when it began in 1987. It was won that year by Philip Pullman, who went on to great success with the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The pupils taking part are from school Year 9 (aged 13 and 14). 24 high schools from across the county have taken part, with two schools representing each of Lancashire's districts.

The Lancashire Book of the Year Award is sponsored by UCLan for the 16th year.

For more information, go to or call 0300 123 6703.


Tagged as: Children, Education and Families Leisure and Culture Libraries and Archives Young People

Share this: