LANCASHIRE SCHOOLS FORUM Date of meeting 19 October 2021

Item No 5

Title: Forum Membership

Executive Summary

This report summarises the changes to the Forum membership since the last meeting.

Forum Decision Required

The Forum is asked to:

- a) Note the report,
- b) Welcome Daniel Baron, James Johnstone, Tim Young, Angela Aspinwall-Livesey, Anna Smith, Sarah Robson, Jackie Lord, Sharon Fenton, Philippa Perks, Liz Laverty, Steve Jones, Claire Thompson and Julie Bell to the Forum.
- c) Welcome Mike Wright back to the Forum
- d) Thank Sharon Alexander, Eric Harrison, Peter Higham and Sarah Callaghan for their contributions to the Forum.

Background

This report provides information on Forum membership issues that have arisen since the last Forum meeting. Details are provided below.

Annual Membership Review

As part of the annual membership review process, several members left the Forum at the end of the 2020/21 academic year, with the thanks of their colleagues, and a number of new appointments have been made from September 2021.

The Forum will wish to welcome the following new members to their first meeting:

Primary School Governors

- Daniel Baron, St Bartholomew's CE Primary School
- James Johnstone, Barrow URC Primary School
- Tim Young, Howick CE Primary School, Penwortham

Primary School Headteachers

- Angela Aspinwall-Livesey, St. John's Catholic Primary and Hillside Community Primary School
- Anna Smith, Burscough Village Primary School
- Sarah Robson, Ribby with Wrea Endowed CE Primary School

Secondary School Governor

• Jackie Lord, Penwortham Girls' High School

Private, Voluntary and Independent (PVI) providers of the free entitlement to early years education

- Sharon Fenton, Rosy Apple Childcare Ltd
- Philippa Perks, University of Cumbria Pre School Centre

One of the PVI vacancies arose after the July 2021 Forum meeting had been held, and members will wish to thank Sharon Alexander for her contribution to the Forum.

Short Stay School Governor

Four nominations were received for the single PRU governor vacancy that was available and an election process was therefore undertaken at the end of the summer term 2021.

Four votes were cast in the election, representing a 50% turnout. Liz Laverty a governor at Shaftesbury High School received 50% of the votes cast and has been appointed to the Forum.

Liz was previously an observer member of the Forum representing teacher unions and has also been a co-opted member of the High Needs working group.

Members will wish to welcome Liz to the Forum as the formal Short Stay School Governor representative.

NASUWT Representative

Steve Jones is the new NASUWT representative on the Forum following the retirement of Eric Harrison

Members will wish to welcome Steve to the Forum and to thank Eric for his contribution.

Special School Headteacher Representative

Peter Higham has resigned as the special school headteacher representative on the Forum.

Claire Thompson, Headteacher at Moorbrook School is to be the new representative.

Members will wish to welcome Claire to the Forum and to thank Peter for his contribution.

Director of Education, Culture and Skills

Sarah Callaghan has recently left the county council to take up a position with Islington Council. Julie Bell, is currently covering the position on an acting basis

Members will wish to welcome Julie to the Forum and to thank Sarah for her contribution.

Secondary Headteacher

An election process was undertaken early in the autumn term 2021 to determine which of 3 secondary school headteacher nominees should be appointed to fill the Forum vacancy.

The election closed on 30 September and Mike Wright, Headteacher at St Augustine's RC High School, Billington was the successful candidate. 11 votes were cast in the election, equating to a 24% turnout. Mike received 55% of the votes cast.

Mike has been a member of the Schools Forum previously and members will wish to welcome him back.