LANCASHIRE SCHOOLS FORUM Date of meeting 17 October 2019

Item No 3

Title: Forum Membership

Executive Summary

This report summarises the changes to the Forum membership since the last meeting.

Forum Decision Required

The Forum is asked to:

- a) Note the report;
- b) Thank Patricia Eastham for her contribution to the Forum;
- c) Welcome Ian Ball, Michelle O'Neill, Cathryn Antwis, Jenny Birkin, Katrina Gale, Neil Gurman, Deanne Marsh, Laura Brennan, Peter Higham, Jan Holmes, Gaynor Gorman and Helen Dicker to their first Forum meeting;
- d) Welcome Lorimer Russell-Hayes back to the Forum.

Background

This report provides information on Forum membership issues that have arisen since the last Forum meeting. Details are provided below.

Primary School Governors

Two new primary school governors have joined the Forum from September 2019, to fill vacancies arising from the annual membership review. These new members are:

- Ian Ball, a governor from Euxton CE Primary School;
- Michelle O'Neill, a governor at Lytham CE Primary School.

We have also been informed that primary governor representative Patricia Eastham has resigned from the Forum. Arrangements are in being made to find a replacement and an election process is currently taking place.

Members will wish to thank Patricia for her contribution to the Forum and welcome lan and Michelle to their first Forum meeting.

Primary School Headteachers

Five new primary school headteacher representatives have joined the Forum for the 2019/20 academic year, filling vacancies arising from the annual membership review. The new headteachers are:

- Cathryn Antwis, headteacher at Frenchwood Primary School;
- Jenny Birkin, headteacher at Adlington Primary School;
- Katrina Gale, headteacher at Yealand CE Primary School;
- Neil Gurman, headteacher at St Mary's CE Primary School, Rawtenstall;
- Deanne Marsh, headteacher at Bacup St Saviour's Primary School

Members will wish to welcome Cathryn, Jenny, Katrina, Neil and Deanne to their first Forum meeting.

Secondary School Governor

The secondary school governor vacancy on the Forum has been filled by Lorimer Russell-Hayes, a governor from Penwortham Girls High School. Members will recall that Lorimer has previously been a member of the Forum

Members will wish to welcome Lorimer back to the Forum.

Special School Governor

Laura Brennan, a governor at Wennington Hall School has been appointed to the special school governor vacancy on the Forum. Laura has already been attending the High Needs Block Working Group as a co-opted member.

Members will wish to welcome Laura to her first meeting of the Forum.

Special School Headteacher

At the Forum meeting in July 2019, a proposal was agreed to allow special school headteachers to nominate an additional representative to sit in the full Forum, following the election of Shaun Jukes as the Forum chair, as Shaun was the only special school Headteacher representative and this would assist with Forum workload and enable the Chair to take a position of neutrality.

Special schools have nominated Peter Higham, headteacher of Great Arley School, as their additional representative.

Members will wish to welcome Peter to his first Forum meeting.

Nursery School Headteacher

Jan Holmes, Headteacher of Walton Lane Nursery School is the new nursery school headteacher representative on the Forum. Members will know that Jan has been a regular attender at the Forum as a substitute representative.

Members will wish to welcome Jan to her first meeting as the formal Nursery School headteacher representative.

Academy Headteacher

The Lancashire academy principals group has nominated Gaynor Gorman, Principal at Lostock Hall Academy as their new representative.

Members will wish to welcome Gaynor to her first Forum meeting.

Academy Governor

Three nominations were received for the single academy governor vacancy on the Forum and an election process was held in the summer term 2019.

Helen Dicker, Chair of Trustees at Endeavour Learning Trust, was successful in the election process receiving 67% of the valid votes cast, and has therefore been appointed to the Forum.

6 valid votes were cast in the election, representing 13% of eligible votes.

Members will wish to welcome Helen to her first Forum meeting.