Name: Wycoller Hall.
Description: Ruin of a 16th Century house, but adapted to be more picturesque in the 18th century. Adjacent medieval packhorse bridge and two small clapper bridges.
Wycoller Hall is a late 16th century stone manor house, built by the Hartleys...after 1818 it was unoccupied and fell into ruin. .. the 16th Century building has a two storeyed central block, the hall occupying the ground floor, with a fireplace at its north west end having a three centred head and a coved back, round which a stone bench is carried. To the right of the fireplace there is a wall recess, and to the left a doorway leading to an entrance lobby and a flight of stone steps to the first floor. The south west wall of the hall has a twelve light stone mullioned window, the north east wall has two doorways to the kitchen and offices, one with a spandrel shield bearing the date 1596, and it formerly had a bay window, now removed and re-erected in Trawden. The south east wing is of three storeys, much altered in the 18th century. To the north east were the 16th century kitchens and offices, later converted into a farmhouse. The original north west wing was small, but it was considerably enlarged later, probably during the 17th Century and was widened in the 18th century.
It has been suggested that the present remains of the hall are a "folly" or construct of the late 1770's, and were built and adapted by the Cunliffe family, using stone and architectural features from other buildings in the area to enhance the appearance of the hall. Much other work was undertaken at the same time "to enhance the antiquity of the estate".